Stampin Up

Love You Lots meets One Sheet Wonder

Just this past Monday I learned what was retiring from the current Stampin’ Up catalog and what was carrying over to next catalog. Well, the DSP was a given to retire, as well as my favorite cute little lovable frog. Knowing this, I figured I would spend this week making projects using them. I had some beautiful “typical” card sizes projects worked out in my mind when my eye caught a somewhat surprising sight on the retiring list…Kraft Cardstock! I had gotten some last month and hadn’t even opened it yet! That made my “typical” sized cards turn to “mini” cards as I had a pack of 6″ X 6″ DSP with only 2 sheets been used out of it. Plus the 12″ X 12″ Kraft Cardstock cuts to make eight 3″ X 3″ cards…or so I thought, but that is another story.

I made my  One Sheet Wonder plan that would get me enough cuts for 10 cards. With the 8 cards mentioned in my YouTube video (2 of each of the following designs) you’ll have a 1.5″ X 3″ and a 1.5″ square (cut diagonal to make 2 triangles). I also cut some strips out of Crumb Cake and Old Olive cardstocks to go on the cards. Fear not. Those two aren’t on the retiring list.

PicsArt_04-15-07.26.35

I used a scrap of Whisper White cardstock (again, not on the retiring list) to stamp the critters in Archival Basic Black and then watercolored them in using Watercolor pencils and the Aqua Painter. Just don’t get the cardstock too wet. We all know what happens to paper and cardstock when it gets too wet. Mush.

The first subject was the cute little frog. I still think it is adorable. There are so many ways to color it…you could even get even more artsy and color it to be a more rain forest frog. I tend to go green because we have the most adorable green tree frogs around my neck of the woods.

PicsArt_03-02-10.56.12

Then comes those cute little hedgehogs.

17903989_10154377267266766_2993526176366052761_n

I decided to get a little more artsy with the Ladybugs saying that they, even on this mini card, are so small. Plenty of canvas to be filled.

17952608_10154377267371766_6871558216223867659_n

Then last, but not least, that elephant…minus his little mouse friend…he holds that balloon so well.

17884578_10154377267451766_610081635006116221_n

Now, I’m down a sheet of DSP and a little more than a sheet of Kraft cardstock…again, another story. Now I’m looking at my stack of retiring items planning so many more cards that I would like to get done by the end of May. It would be wonderful if I could have it all used by the end of April as I have more wonderful Non-retiring products on their way and I want to play with them!

2 thoughts on “Love You Lots meets One Sheet Wonder”

Leave a Reply

