Crochet, Life, Sewing, Stampin Up

Heat Waves, Baseball, Sewing, Crocheting and Card-Making

Hello!

I wish I could say that I have done some remarkable things the last couple weeks, but I can’t. That warm weather we have been asking for finally hit us full strength so you hear the buzz from our central air conditioning unit in the background of my latest round of videos. Something, I hope, can get shut off in the next couple days. It hasn’t been the hottest possible weather, but having heat indexes of near 100 degrees F have taken their toll. The most exciting thing we’ve done this past week and a half was go to see our local minor league baseball team, The Snappers, play an evening game just as the weather started getting hotter. Other than that, we’ve been spending a lot of time in the air conditioning.

I have been losing some weight since the beginning of the year. I have issues finding clothes styles that I like that fit me correctly so I wanted to make myself some clothes. I went on my favorite pattern maker’s website and wrote down the numbers for 24 patterns I liked. Most of the time, I can go and get patterns for 40% but my goal is for sales that happen frequently where they are $1.99 or, my favorite, 5/$5. This led me to look around the online ads and found a store selling them for $0.99! Heck yeah…draw back was there was a limit of 10. So I went, grabbed 10 and looked at the fabric. Now, let’s face it. One of the top 3 reasons I like to make my own clothes is that I want to make my clothes cheaper than what I can buy them in the store. They called a yard of fabric for $7.99 a sale? I don’t think so. The most I plan on spending for a yard of fabric is $5.99. $6.99 is severely pushing it. Especially when most of my patterns call for 2 – 3 yards. I **MIGHT** agree to spend a little more if it were a special occasion, but if I can’t come in a cotton dress (hahaha, me…in a dress.) I’m not going to be there. So with that, I went to another store and found a rack of different fabrics for $1 a yard! Now THAT is my price range. This included a perfectly good Spiderman fabric which my son loves. He’s put in his order already, lol.

Another thing I have been doing while beating the heat is crocheting. It’s so much nicer to sit with a baby blanket on your lap while in AC…or in the winter which it definitely is not here, than to sit and work on it in the heat of summer. I am highly leaning toward writing a pattern book of different baby blankets that came to mind when I heard my cousin was expecting her second baby.  Pattern writing is not new to me. I have numerous knitting and crocheting patterns on Etsy and Ravelry already. The patterns will be written…I’m just trying to figure out if I want to keep them separate or put them in a group. Decisions, decisions.

Let’s get on to the real reason you probably clicked to this blog post…the card making. The last couple of weeks I’ve been focusing on a stamp set (from Stampin’ Up!) a week. The first week was Lovely Friends, and this last week was the hostess set Tranquil Tulips.

PicsArt_06-08-07.39.20This card used Berry Burst cardstock and ink, as well as Archival Basic Black and the new In Color Classic Stampin’ Pad in Lemon Lime Twist. I only got the Lovely Friends Stamp Set because I didn’t see me using the thinlits enough to justify the purchase. While making this card, I began to wish I had gotten the bundle so I didn’t have to cut the flowers out by hand. Of course, you need the Big Shot in order to use the bundle, but it makes it so much faster. Needless to say, I have that sitting on my next order now.

PicsArt_06-08-07.40.35

This card used the Dapper Denim cardstock and Classic Stampin’ Pad, as well as the Color Theory DSP. This paper comes in a 6″ x 6″ stack of 48 sheets which is 4 sheets of 12 double-sided designs. I just love the crackle look on the sheets. I wanted something simple and would have loved to add some rhinestones to the card, but I seemed to have misplaced them. Add those to the next order as well.

PicsArt_06-08-07.41.36

Whisper White cardstock, Dapper Denim cardstock and ink, and this time a bit of the foil paper from the Eastern Palace DSP.

Now on to the Tranquil Tulips Hostess set. This set is a set you can earn by either having a party which adds up to $150 before shipping/handling and tax or placing an order of $150 or more, again, before shipping/handling and tax. I love this set, and you will probably be seeing this quite a bit. If you are interested in having an online party, contact me and I’ll be happy to help you! Plus for the month of June, if you have a party (or order) of $350 or more before shipping/handling and tax, you will receive an extra $35 in Stampin’ Rewards!

PicsArt_06-13-08.25.36

For the first card, my attempt at a sympathy card. If you think it is too cheery for it’s intended use, just switch out the sentiment. The sentiment on this card is from the Better Together stamp set and the jar is cut from Color Theory DSP using the medium jar from the Everyday Jars Framelit set. The cardstocks are Crumb Cake, Dapper Denim, and Whisper White with Dapper Denim and Lemon Lime Twist inks.

PicsArt_06-13-08.27.47

This card used Berry Burst Cardstock, ink, and 1/2″ Finely Woven Ribbon. Also the Jar of Love stamp set was used for the sentiment and Everyday Jars Framelits were used to cut the vellum jar using the medium jar framelit. Archival Basic Black and Lemon Lime Twist inks were also used.

PicsArt_06-13-08.28.48

Finally, this card uses Sweet Sugarplum cardstock and ink, as well as Lemon Lime Twist ink. I think it works so perfectly for the stems. The sentiment is from the Better Together Stamp set.

I hope you enjoyed these cards. Tutorials on these cards can be found on my YouTube channel.  Please, be sure to like and share my videos as well as subscribing to my channel.

Thank you so much! Until next time…

Leave a Reply

